Olga Hugelmeyer Superintendent of Schools Hollis Mendes
Principal
Christina De Simone
Vice Principal

Dear Joseph Battin School No. 4 Community,

The Governor's Educator of the Year Program highlights educational innovation, student achievement, exemplary teaching, and important services outside the classroom environment that lead to student success. This celebratory program recognizes our state's best teachers and educational services professionals who will be recognized at the Union County Office of Education.

The school is proud to announce that the 2019 Governor's Teacher of the Year for Joseph Battin School No. 4 was awarded to Mrs. Diana Bromirski. Mrs. Bromirski has served Elizabeth Public Schools since 2005. As a Special Education teacher, she has provided her students with wonderful educational experiences infused with love, patience, and understanding. Her room is always warm and welcoming, making it a safe and comfortable place to learn. Whenever you pass by or go into her room, you can feel the respect for each other and the desire and enthusiasm to learn. She is an asset to our school and we are proud that she has been recognized as the 2019 Governor's Teacher of the Year.

This year's Educational Service Provider of the Year for Joseph Battin School No. 4 was awarded to Mrs. Laura Matino-Dabrowski, who sadly passed away earlier this month. Mrs. Matino-Dabrowski joined the School No. 4 team in 2003 as a Kindergarten classroom assistant. Her warm and loving demeanor coupled with her compassion to teach contributed to the wonderful days her students experienced throughout the year. Through her dedication and belief in her students, she enriched their understanding of things in the world around them, and encouraged a sense of curiosity, discovery, and enthusiasm that she hoped would stay with them through their lives. Though the entire School No. 4 community feels the loss of Mrs. Matino-Dabrowski, her spirit will live on in the lives of the countless people she has influenced.

Please join us in honoring Mrs. Bromirski and remembering Mrs. Matino-Dabrowski for their amazing contributions to our school community.

Sincerely,

Hollis Mendes